Jon Pear (a.k.a. NeuroAster)

textpunk of neuroaster

In Uncategorized on June 7, 2007 at 5:59 am

I think ninety-nine times out of one-hundred when I, as a pedestrian, attempt to cross a perfectly legitimate crosswalk, where there IS, in fact, a YIELD SIGN, anywhere between five and ten cars drive right in front of the crosswalk and refuse to give me the right of way. More often than not, the brief moment when no cars are coming, is my Golden Window of Opportunity when I have to run across the crosswalk just to get by.

One time, after about nine cars had driven in front of me standing at a yield sign crosswalk, approximately the tenth driver driving up was thoughtful and observant enough to stop before the crosswalk and let me walk across. I waved a small thank-you wave to the thoughtful driver as I walked across the crosswalk. Meanwhile, the SUV driver immediately behind the thoughtful driver was honking the horn like crazy, as if honoring a yield sign was a rotten thing to do.

If there were bumper-stickers that said “DIE PEDESTRIAN SCUM,” would they become the most lucratively profitable bumper-stickers ever marketed?

Leave a Reply

